Chesil Bank Neighbourhood Plan – Vision 4 Chesil

The CBPC NP Vision 4 Chesil steering group continues to meet please check the Vision 4 Chesil website for updates

Newsletter 15 March 2023 has just been published


Visit the dedicated Vision 4 Chesil website

A Public Meeting was held on the 22nd October 2018 in Portesham Village Hall the purpose of which was to seek support for the production of a Neighbourhood Plan which would be sponsored by the Parish Council. It was agreed that the activity of producing a Neighbourhood Plan should commence and in order to facilitate this a separate Steering Group has been set up comprising volunteers from the 4 villages and Parish Council Representatives. This group is now meeting on a regular basis and some preliminary work has been carried out. The main priority for the near term is to produce a costed and resourced Project Plan which can be used as a basis for establishing project funding.

What is a Neighbourhood Plan?

A neighbourhood plan is a planning document which will guide the future development of the area, focusing on the use and development of land but taking account of the associated social, economic and environmental issues.

It should be noted that it is a legal document and once established the Local Planning Authority is obliged to refer to it.

How will it be produced?

The production of the Neighbourhood Plan will be led by the Steering Group but through consultation with the community. Early engagement with the community to identify key issues in the area will shape the aims and policies of the plan. The evidence gathering will be done through questionnaires and community workshops.

How long will it take?

The production of a Neighbourhood Plan is a non-trivial task and it may take 2 or 3 years to complete the process, depending on its scope and level of detail.


Steering Group Members

Derek Troughton – Chair & Langton Herring Village rep

Peter Begley – Vice Chair – Abbotsbury Village rep

Anne Kerins- Langton Herring Parish Councillor

Graham Whitby- Portesham Village rep

Karen Kennedy- Fleet village rep

Saira Sawtell – Fleet Village rep

Mark Hardway- Abbotsbury Parish Councillor

Ruth Chipp Marshall- Portesham Parish Councillor

John Coombe- Fleet Parish Councillor

Martin Pearson- Langton Herring community rep

Michele Harding– Clerk


Back To Top